March 1999

ORNL people
Metals and Ceramics Division Director Doug Craig is the new chairman of the ORNL Reengineering Steering Committee, a position previously held by Frank Kornegay, now with the Spallation Neutron Source. Responsibility for ES&H reengineering efforts has been shifted to the Integrated Safety Management Implementation Committee under Chemical and Analytical Sciences Director Marv Poutsma. The Labís currently defined scope of reengineering is expected to be completed by the end of FY 1999.

The Chemical and Analytical Sciences Divisionís Mike Ramsey has been awarded the Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientists from the Alexander Von Humboldt Foundation in Germany. Ramsey has won several awards in the past few years for his ďlab on a chipĒ technology. The award includes the opportunity to undertake extended periods of research (up to 12 months over five years) in Germany.

The Instrumentation and Controls Divisionís Curt Maxey has received the Arnold O. Beckman Award from the Instrument Society of America for conceiving a new method for obtaining high-resolution angular and linear displacement measurements. Shih-Jung Chang of the Research Reactors Division has been elected a fellow of ASME International. He will be honored at their annual meeting in Boston this August.

Ian Anderson, a researcher in the Metals and Ceramics Division, has been elected to serve a three-year term as a director on the executive committee of the Microbeam Analysis Society, his first national post.