Calendar Details

For more information about item submission and attendance, see About the Technical Calendar.

Thursday, October 24

Cyber-enabled collaborative graduate course for Soft Matter Scattering by Multi-institutions (October 24, 2013)

Multiple Lecturers
Neutron Sciences Directorate and Joint Institute for Neutron Sciences, ,

2:00 PM — 3:30 PM, Live Attendance for Registrants via Adobe Connect Login
Contact: Dr. Meiyun Chang-Smith (, 865.574.9065


The Neutron Sciences Directorate at Oak Ridge National Laboratory and the Joint Institute for Neutron Sciences between University of Tennessee and ORNL are coordinating the 2nd cyber-enabled collaborative graduate course "Neutrons in Soft Matter Science: Complex Materials on Mesoscopic Scales" taught by scientists and professors from sixteen contributing institutions. Scattering experiments using neutrons, X-rays and light are critical in studying structure and dynamics of soft-matter systems including water, colloids, polymers, surfactants solutions and biological macromolecules. The present cyber course draws together an array of internationally recognized experts in both fundamental and applied aspects of soft matter scattering to provide a timely didactic presentation of theory, techniques and applications in this field.

Multi-site interactive lecture sessions will be delivered live online. They are simultaneously recorded and made freely available subsequently via streaming from the NSMS course resources page at ORNL, which will also contain various other materials associated with the course. To participate in the course, please go to the URL below and follow the registration instructions therein. Once you have registered, you can enter the course resources page via the login button.

Course URL:


Simon Billinge, Columbia University/BNL
Benjamin Chu, Stony Brook University.
Juan Colmenero, University of Basque Country.
Bill Hamilton, ORNL.
Ken Herwig, ORNL.
Tim Lodge, University of Minnesota.
Chuck Majkrzak, NIST.
Simon Mochrie, Yale University.
Bradley Olsen, MIT.
Dieter Richter, J├╝lich Center for Neutron Science.
Sunil Sinha, University of California, San Diego.
Jeremy Smith, ORNL/UTK.
Eugene Stanley, Boston University.
Norm Wagner, University of Delaware.
David Weitz, Harvard University.
Yang Zhang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.