Oak Ridge National Laboratory


News Release

Media Contact: Fred Strohl (strohlhf@ornl.gov)
Communications and External Relations


Lockheed Martin award winners announced at Awards Night Dinner

OAK RIDGE, Tenn., May 13, 1998 — Approximately 350 employees of Lockheed Martin Energy Research Corporation and Lockheed Martin Energy Systems were presented awards May 1 during the annual Lockheed Martin Awards Night Dinner at Knoxville's Hyatt Regency Hotel.

Steve Nagler of the Solid State Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) was named ORNL's Scientist of the Year. Klaus Guber of ORNL's Computational Physics and Engineering Division and Paul Koehler of the Physics Division were named ORNL's Authors of the Year. Jim Rushton of ORNL's Chemical Technology Division was selected the Lab's 1998 Leader of the Year. Howard Haynes of ORNL's Engineering Technology Division was named ORNL's Inventor of the Year. Bill Cochran of ORNL's Instrumentation and Controls Division honored for the Lab's operational improvement of the year. Timothy Burchell and James Klett of ORNL's Metals and Ceramics Division were named Engineers of the Year.

Dave Beck, manager of Technical Services, was named Energy Systems' Manager of the Year. Other awards went to John Lyons, transition manager of East Tennessee Technology Park, as recipient of the Special Management Achievement Award, Kenneth Lewis of Nuclear Criticality Safety as Engineer of the Year, Jill Freeman of Human Resources and Gary Lovelace of Disassembly and Storage for the Operational Performance Improvement Award, and John W. Steward and Bruce D. Lawson, Health and Safety representatives for the Oil, Chemical and Atomic Workers Union, for a special achievement in worker safety.

ORNL, one of DOE's multiprogram national research and development facilities, is managed by Lockheed Martin Energy Research Corporation. The Oak Ridge Y-12 Plant is managed by Lockheed Martin Energy Systems.