Oak Ridge National Laboratory


News Release

Media Contact: Fred Strohl (strohlhf@ornl.gov)
Communications and External Relations


Federal Lab awards presented to ORNL

OAK RIDGE, Tenn., Dec. 18, 2000 — Three Federal Laboratory Consortium Awards for technology transfer in the Southeast have been presented to the Department of Energy's (DOE) Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) for the transfer of laboratory-developed technologies to the private sector.

Receiving the awards in Houston were Ashok Choudhury of ORNL's Office of Technology Transfer and Economic Development, a multi-division team working in ORNL's High Temperature Superconductivity program and Larry Dickens of the Office of Technology Transfer and Economic Development.

The Federal Lab Consortium's overall mission is to add value to the federal agencies, laboratories, and their partners to accomplish the rapid integration of R&D resources within the mainstream of the U.S. economy.

Choudhury was recognized for his efforts on behalf of ORNL to patent and license high thermal conductivity graphite foam, which is a material that transfers heat more efficiently and has a variety of applications in defense, commercial and transportation technologies. Graphite foam was developed by James Klett and Timothy Burchell of ORNL's Metals and Ceramics Division.

Bob Hawsey, director of ORNL's Superconductivity program, accepted an award on behalf of ORNL's team of engineers and scientists who are collaborating with the Southwire Company of Carrollton, Ga., in developing and commercializing high-temperature superconducting power cables. Superconductors are materials that can transmit electricity through wires with virtually no energy losses due to resistance. The power cable system uses liquid nitrogen at 70-80 K. Superconducting wires can carry up to 100 times more electric current than conventional copper or aluminum wires of the same cross-sectional area.

Members of the group working with Southwire are John Stovall of the Energy Division, Glenn Barber, Jonathan Demko, Andy Fadnek, Paul Fisher, Chris Foster, Mike Gouge, Winston Lue, Bill Schwenterly and Dennis Sparks of the Fusion Energy Division; Robert Benson of the Engineering Technology Division; Randy James, Isidor Sauers, Alvin Ellis and Vaughan Patania of the Life Sciences Division; and Patrick Martin of the Metals and Ceramics Division.

Dickens was awarded the Commercialization Manager of the Year plaque for his professional achievement and dedication to detail in developing new mechanisms and approaches for increased licensing opportunities, revenue generation and sponsored research for ORNL.