Oak Ridge National Laboratory


News Release

Media Contact: Mike Bradley ()
Communications and External Relations


Knoxville Hosts International Conference on Neutron Scattering 2009

OAK RIDGE, Tenn., April 15, 2009 — Scientists from 29 countries will converge in Knoxville May 3-7, 2009, for the International Conference on Neutron Scattering 2009 (ICNS 2009). This conference is the 9th ICNS in the series since the conferences began with ICNS 1982 in Hakone, Japan, and follows ICNS 2005 in Sydney, Australia.

Sponsored by the Neutron Scattering Society of America and hosted by Oak Ridge National Laboratory, ICNS 2009 features over 660 oral and poster presentations. A strong program of plenary, invited and contributed talks covers topics in biology, chemistry, materials science, earth science, engineering, soft matter, condensed matter physics, instrumentation, and neutron physics—confirming the great diversity of science that is enabled by neutron scattering.


  • Welcome by ORNL Director, Thom Mason
  • Keynote Speakers Patricia Dehmer, Deputy Director for Science Programs, USDOE Office of Science, and John Root, Director, Canadian Neutron Beam Centre, discuss the state of neutron scattering throughout the world
  • A Conference Exhibit of more than 20 manufacturers, suppliers and developers of the latest products and services in the rapidly evolving world of neutron scattering
  • Poster Sessions Tuesday and Wednesday evenings
  • A tour of the Spallation Neutron Source (SNS) and High Flux Isotope Reactor (HFIR)—sponsored by Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Presentation of the prestigious 2009 Walter Hälg Prize of the European Neutron Scattering Association to Dieter Richter, Research Center Juelich, Germany
  • Welcome Reception, Conference Banquet and Farewell Mixer
With the wealth of new and upgraded neutron facilities being proposed, built and coming on line around the globe, this is an exciting time for neutron research. ICNS 2009 will provide an important venue for the neutron community to come together—to learn about the newest research, to hear of progress on these projects, and to discuss new instrumentation concepts.

Conference Co-Chairs for ICNS 2009 are Simon Billinge, Columbia University, and Gregory S. Smith, Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Program Advisory Committee Chairs are Paul Butler, National Institute of Science and Technology, Meigan Aronson, Stony Brook/Brookhaven National Lab, and Lee Robertson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Discounted prereregistration rates for ICNS 2009 are available through 5:00 pm (ET), Monday, April 27. On-site registrations will also be available. For registration information, visit http://www.mrs.org/icns09_reg.

ICNS 2009 encourages coverage of its technical sessions and exhibits by the scientific and general news media. Press passes are issued to editors and reporters representing bonafide news publications only. To register for a PRESS Pass, contact Anita B. Miller at amiller@mrs.org.