Oak Ridge National Laboratory


News Release

Media Contact: Media Relations (news@ornl.gov)
Communications and External Relations


ORNL appoints first Alvin Weinberg fellows

The first recipients have been named for a newly established fellowship at ORNL honoring Alvin M. Weinberg, ORNL director from 1955 to 1973.
OAK RIDGE, Tenn., June 23, 2009 — Four early-career researchers have received the first Alvin M. Weinberg Fellowship appointments from Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

The Weinberg Fellowship, honoring ORNL's director from 1955 to 1973, is awarded to leading young scientists and engineers in physical and biological sciences and engineering with interests in energy and energy-related science and technology challenges.

Jeff Bielicki, Brian Egle, Chad Parish, and Wyatt Tenhaeff begin what is projected to be a series of Weinberg fellows at the laboratory.

"ORNL is excited to initiate this program to attract top talent in energy research to the laboratory," said ORNL Director Thom Mason. "These Weinberg fellows will work at the frontiers of fundamental science and engineering with the potential to transform critical energy technologies."

Alvin M. Weinberg (1915-2006) attained prominence as a reactor physicist, as a pioneer in nuclear energy and as the director of ORNL. His lifetime honors include the Atomic Energy Commission's E. O. Lawrence Memorial Award and DOE's highest award, the Enrico Fermi Award.

The appointments, which run up to two years with a possible renewal for a third, require a doctorate in chemistry, materials science, biological or environmental science, computational science, nuclear science and engineering or any other energy-related science. Candidates nearing completion of a Ph.D. are also eligible.

Bielicki, who is receiving his doctorate in public policy from Harvard University with a dissertation topic, "Deployment Lessons for Burying Climate Change With Carbon Capture and Storage," joins ORNL as part of the Energy and Transportation Science Division working within the Center for Transportation Analysis.

Egle, from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has a particular interest in research and development of stable and radioactive isotope production technologies, as well as nuclear fusion, nuclear fission and particle accelerator technologies. He expects to complete his doctorate later this year.

Chad Parish received his doctorate from North Carolina State University in materials science and engineering working with world-recognized expert Phil Russell. As a Weinberg fellow, he will join the microscopy group of the Materials Science and Technology Division researching new, microscopy-focused, energy storage materials research efforts.

Wyatt Tenhaeff of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology will work in the physical chemistry of materials group within the Materials Science and Technology Division. He will study enhanced ionic transport and mechanical stability afforded by thin film polymer-inorganic composites for battery electrolytes.

Information on the Weinberg Fellowships can be found at https://jobs.ornl.gov/fellowships/Weinberg.html.

ORNL is managed by UT-Battelle for the Department of Energy.