Recent News & Features

News Releases Archives | News Resources Archives | Features Archives

News Releases

  • Four ORNL scientists selected for early career research funding
    OAK RIDGE, Tenn., May 13, 2015 - Four researchers at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory are among 44 scientists selected by DOE's Office of Science to receive funding under the department's Early Career Research Program.
  • ORNL microscopy directly images problematic lithium dendrites in batteries
    OAK RIDGE, Tenn., March 6, 2015 - Scientists at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory have captured the first real-time nanoscale images of lithium dendrite structures known to degrade lithium-ion batteries. The ORNL team’s electron microscopy could help researchers address long-standing issues related to battery performance and safety.
  • New, current, completed Wigner fellows recognized - Michael Naguib, sponsored by Nancy Dudney; Michael Chance, sponsored by Lynn Boatner; and Xunxiang Hu, sponsored by Yutai Katoh, all of the Materials Science & Technology Division. The annual Wigner Fellowship reception was held on March 12 to recognize the new and current Wigner fellows along with Wigner fellows who recently completed their fellowship appointment.

Awards & Honors

Award Archives |Honors & Awards Resources Archives | Honors & Awards Archives

  • Yutai Katoh, elected as an ANS Fellow (2015).
  • MSTD's stainless steel tech wins NACE International award - ORNL Today 4/6/15 - Researchers from the Materials Science & Technology Division have won the NACE International 2015 Materials Performance, Corrosion Innovation of the Year Award. The team includes Michael Brady, Yakinori Yamamoto, Bruce Pint, Govindarajan Muralidharan and Philip Maziasz. Together with Carpenter Technology Corporation, the ORNL group helped develop a stainless steel alloy that provides advanced corrosion-resistance properties in high-temperature industrial environments. Alumina-forming austenitic stainless steels, as they're known, offer this capability without the abandoning the lower cost, weldability and formability of conventional high-temperature stainless steels. The technology received an R&D 100 award in 2009. The team was formally recognized at NACE International's 2015 Conference in Dallas, Texas.
  • April 2, 2015 - The Advanced Photon Source Users Organization is excited to announce that the 2015 APS Arthur H. Compton Award has been awarded to Gene Ice, Bennett Larson, and Cullie Sparks (posthumously). This award recognizes an important scientific or technical accomplishment at, or beneficial to, the APS. The award citation reads, “The 2015 APS Arthur H. Compton Award is given jointly to Gene Ice, Bennett Larson, and Cullie Sparks for seminal developments advancing spatially and temporally resolved synchrotron x-ray capabilities.”
    The selection committee reviewed several excellent nominations this year. The nominating and support statements for the Ice/Larson/Sparks team made clear the importance of their work: “This nomination recognizes breakthroughs that have had transformative impacts on focusing monochromators, on submicron 3D spatial resolution x-ray microscopy, and on high-time-resolution scientific investigations at the Advanced Photon Source and synchrotrons worldwide.
    The award will be presented at the APS Plenary Session, Monday, May 11 at 1:55 pm at the 2015 APS/CNM Users Meeting, followed by a talk. Congratulations once again to this year's winners! More information about the Compton award can be found at


Story Tips

Story Tip Archives

  • Materials - Efficient catalysts - January 13, 2015 - Reduction of pollution from vehicles and power plants relies, in large part, on how effectively catalysts can oxidize nitric oxide (NO). Advancing such catalyst performance requires a better understanding of the noble metals used in catalytic converters.


Recent Videos

News Video Archives


ORNL Spotlight

ORNL Spotlight Archives


ORNL Review




Formed on March 1, 2006 from a merger of the former Condensed Matter Sciences and Metals & Ceramics Divisions, the Materials Science and Technology Division conducts fundamental and applied materials research for basic energy sciences programs and a variety of energy technologies, including energy efficiency, renewable energy, transportation, conservation, fossil energy, fusion energy, nuclear power, and space exploration. Basic and applied research programs are focused on the thrust areas of

  • theory and modeling at multiple scales,
  • designed synthesis of condensed matter physics systems, alloys, structural ceramics, and specialized crystals,
  • structural characterization via electron, ion, photon and neutron sciences,
  • comprehensive physical and mechanical property characterization,
  • interaction with extreme environments (temperature, corrosive media, radiation), and
  • applied materials physics (superconductivity, thermoelectrics, hydrogen storage, photovoltaics, catalysis, energy storage)

The MST division is a matrix organization made up of 19 research & development groups, three program offices, and two major user facilities. MST division research staff have strong interactions with the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences and the neutron scattering facilities located at the High Flux Isotopes Reactor Center for Neutron Scattering and the Spallation Neutron Source.

The MST division mission is to conduct basic and applied research and development on materials in order to improve the understanding of physical phenomena and to develop advanced materials and processes to enable energy-efficient, cost-competitive and environmentally acceptable materials technologies for a variety of important national priorities.

We perform this work for numerous government programs as well as in support of industry needs. We also enhance science education and improve scientific awareness of students from precollege to postdoc levels through a variety of intern and postgraduate programs.

Division Office Contacts

Interium Division Director
Deputy Division Director 865.574.5119  865.574.4066 
Science & Resources Integration 865.574.5123 865.574.4913
Division Secretary 865.574.4065  865.574.4066
Website counter