Recent News & Features

News Releases Archives | News Resources Archives | Features Archives

News Releases

  • ORNL microscopy directly images problematic lithium dendrites in batteries
    OAK RIDGE, Tenn., March 6, 2015—Scientists at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory have captured the first real-time nanoscale images of lithium dendrite structures known to degrade lithium-ion batteries. The ORNL team’s electron microscopy could help researchers address long-standing issues related to battery performance and safety.

Awards & Honors

Award Archives |Honors & Awards Resources Archives | Honors & Awards Archives


Story Tips

Story Tip Archives

  • Materials - Efficient catalysts - January 13, 2015 - Reduction of pollution from vehicles and power plants relies, in large part, on how effectively catalysts can oxidize nitric oxide (NO). Advancing such catalyst performance requires a better understanding of the noble metals used in catalytic converters.


Recent Videos

News Video Archives


ORNL Spotlight

ORNL Spotlight Archives


ORNL Review



ORNL Awards Night 1998


Outstanding Accomplishment in Science and Technology -

Technical Support:

  • Ken Blakely
  • Kevin Cooley
  • Janie Gardner
  • Dave Harper
  • Ed Hatfield
  • Randy Howell

Research Accomplishment:

  • Mike Miller
  • Karren More

Development Accomplishment:

  • Tim Burchell
  • James Klett
  • Edgar Voelkl

Leadership R&D:

  • Bob Lauf


Outstanding Accomplishment in Laboratory Operations -

Bargaining Unit Support

  • Pat Howard
  • Barry Whitson