Recent News & Features

News Releases Archives | News Resources Archives | Features Archives

News Releases

  • American Physical Society honors three from ORNL - OAK RIDGE, Tenn., Jan. 14, 2015- Three researchers from the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory have been honored with fellowships from the American Physical Society. Bobby Sumpter, Randy Fishman and Thomas Papenbrock were each recognized for their exceptional contributions to the physical sciences.
  • Safa-Sefat, featured in 40 under Forty - (2015) Athena, a researcher in the Materials S&T Division, describes her research in superconductivity and solid-state chemistry in her profile. Roderick, leader of the Bulding Envelope Systems group in the Building Technologies Research & Integration Center, relates his career in energy efficient buildings research with his family's background in building and construction.
  • Goyal elected NAI fellow, takes SUNY-Buffalo post - (2015) The National Academy of Inventors has elected Materials S&T Division research and Corporate Fellow Amit Goyal fellow. The University at Buffalo (State University of New York) has named Amit as the first director of UB's Research and Education in eNergy, Environment and Water (UB RENEW) Institute, following an international search.

Awards & Honors

Award Archives |Honors & Awards Resources Archives | Honors & Awards Archives

  • Goyal elected NAI fellow, takes SUNY-Buffalo post - (2015) The National Academy of Inventors has elected Materials S&T Division research and Corporate Fellow Amit Goyal fellow.

Story Tips

Story Tip Archives

  • Materials - Efficient catalysts - January 13, 2015 - Reduction of pollution from vehicles and power plants relies, in large part, on how effectively catalysts can oxidize nitric oxide (NO). Advancing such catalyst performance requires a better understanding of the noble metals used in catalytic converters.


Recent Videos

News Video Archives


ORNL Spotlight

ORNL Spotlight Archives


ORNL Review



ORNL Awards Night 2007


Administrative Support (Nonexempt)

  • Winner: Brenda Darlene Hickman
  • Citation: For exceptional management of Division vehicles that resulted in significant cost reduction to MSTD, fuel savings, and a safer, newer fleet


Director's Award

  • Winner: Vinod Sikka
  • Citation: For Outstanding Individual Accomplishment in Science and Technology

Early Career Award for Engineering Accomplishment

  • Winner: Jeremy T. Busby
  • Citation: For excellence in engineering materials research leading to (1) timely identification of irradiation-induced segregation and phase instabilities in candidate structural refractory alloys for critical application to the DOE Space Reactor Program, and (2) development of high performance cast stainless steel for critical application to the International Tokamak Experimental Reactor (ITER)

Excellence in Technology Transfer

  • Winners: Philip Maziasz (4 team members), Neal D. Evans, D. Ray Johnson, John P. Shingledecker
  • Citation: For commercializing the new heat-resistant CF8C-Plus Cast Austenitic Stainless Steel for high-temperature diesel engine and gas-turbine component applications

Inventor of the Year

  • Winner: Vinod K. Sikka
  • Citation: For sound, commerically viable invention in a broad field of materials development and processing methods

Distinguished Scientist

  • Winner: Brian C. Sales
  • Citation: For sustained contributions in condensed matter and materials physics, especially in the areas of intermediate valence compounds, nuclear waste forms, and advanced thermoelectric materials