Human Genome Project Information. Click to return to home page.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy Human Genome Program

Human Genome News Archive Edition

Human Genome News, September 1992

GDB Chromosome Editors

Chromosome Editors are listed by committee with their location, fax number, and e-mail address. Senior Editors are shown in boldface capitals. For your convenience, HGMIS has provided Quick Links.

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, X, Y, Clinical Disorders, Comparative Mapping, DNA, Linkage, Mitochondria, Neoplasia, Nomenclature


Chromosome 1

  • GAIL A. BRUNS, Children's Hospital Medical Center, 617/735-7588, brun@rascal.bwh.harvard.edu
  • Nicholas C. Dracopoli, Mass. Institute of Technology, 617/258-8728, dracopol@eagle.mit.edu

Chromosome 2

  • NIGEL K. SPURR, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, (Int.) 44/707-49527, ns@cih.icnet.uk
  • Andrew J. Pakstis, Yale University School of Medicine, 203/785-6568, pakstis@yalemed.bitnet

Chromosome 3

  • BENJAMIN CARRITT, University College of London, (Int.) 44/71-387-3496, b.carritt@crc.ac.uk
  • Yusuke Nakamura, Cancer Institute, Tokyo, (Int.) 81/3-3918-0342
  • Susan Naylor, University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, 512/567-6781, naylor@uthscsa.edu

Chromosome 4

  • GERT-JAN B. VAN OMMEN, Leiden University, (Int.) 31/71-276-075, vanommen@rullf2.leidenuniv.nl
  • Kenneth H. Buetow, Fox Chase Cancer Center, 215/728-3574, kh_buetow@fccc.edu
  • Jeffrey C. Murray, University of Iowa Hospital, 319/356-3347, jmurray@umaxc.weeg.uiowa.edu
  • Richard M. Myers, University of Calif., San Francisco, 415/476-8217, myers@cgl.ucsf.edu

Chromosome 5

  • LARRY L. DEAVEN, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 505/665-3024, ldeaven@larmach.lanl.gov
  • John D. McPherson, University of Calif., Irvine, 714/725-2688, jdmcpher@uci.edu

Chromosome 6

  • ANDREAS ZIEGLER, Institute for Exp. Oncology and Transplantation Medicine,
    (Int.) 49/30-303-53778, armin.volz%klinikum-virchow.fu-berlin.dbp.de@ixgate.gmd.de
  • R. Duncan Campbell, University of Oxford, (Int.) 44/865-275-729
  • Howard M. Cann, Centre d'Etude du Polymorphisme Humain, (Int.) 33/1-40-18-01-55, howard@cephb.fr
  • Jeffery Trent, University of Michigan, 313/764-4534, jeff_trent@med.umich.edu

Chromosome 7

  • LAP-CHEE TSUI, Hospital for Sick Children, 416/813-4931, cfdata@sickkids.on.ca
  • Karl-Heinz Grzeschik, Med. Zentrum fr Humangenetik, (Int.) 49/6421-285630, grzeschi@convex.hrz.uni-marburg.de

Chromosome 8

  • DENNIS T. DRAYNA, Genentech, Inc., 415/225-2739, dtd@gene.com
  • Stephen Wood, University of British Columbia, 604/822-5348, swood@unixg.ubc.ca

Chromosome 9

  • MOYRA SMITH, University of Calif., Irvine, 714/725-2089, dmsmith@uci.edu
  • Jonathan L. Haines, Massachusetts General Hospital, 617/726-5735, haines@helix.mgh.harvard.edu
  • Sue Povey, University College London, (Int.) 44/71-387-3496, m.povey@crc.ac.uk

Chromosome 10

  • KENNETH K. KIDD, Yale University School of Medicine, 203/785-6568, kidd@yalemed.bitnet
  • Jen-i Mao, Collaborative Research, 617/891-5062, mao@cric.com
  • Nancy E. Simpson, Queens University, 613/548-1348, simpsonn@qucdn.bitnet

Chromosome 11

  • VERONICA VAN HEYNINGEN, Western General Hospital , (Int.) 44/31-343-2620, vervan@mrcvax.ed.ac.uk
  • Glen A. Evans, Salk Institute, 619/558-9513, gevans@salk-sc2.sdsc.edu
  • Carol Jones, Eleanor Roosevelt Institute for Cancer Research, 303/333-8423, jones_c@maui.hsc.colorado.edu

Chromosome 12

  • IAN W. CRAIG, University of Oxford, (Int.) 44/865-275-318, icraig@crc.ac.uk
  • Tobias Gedde-Dahl, Jr., University of Oslo, (Int.) 47/2-209-583
  • Raju Kucherlapati, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, 718/823-6550, kucherla@aecom.yu.edu

Chromosome 13

  • DOROTHY WARBURTON, Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center, 212/305-7436, cuh@cuccfa.ccc.columbia.edu
  • Aravinda Chakravarti, University of Pittsburgh, 412/624-3020, aravinda@chimera.hgen.pitt.edu

Chromosome 14

  • DIANE W. COX, Hospital for Sick Children, 416/813-4931, dcox@sickkids.on.ca
  • Tobias Gedde-Dahl, Jr., University of Oslo, (Int.) 47/2-209-583

Chromosome 15

  • TIMOTHY A. DONLON, Stanford University Hospital, 415/723-3147, cv.tim@stanford.bitnet
  • Jacques S. Beckmann, Centre d'Etude du Polymorphisme Humain, (Int.) 33/1-4018-0155, beckmann@cephb.fr
  • Susan Malcolm, Institute of Child Health, (Int.) 44/71-831-4366, smalcolm@crc.ac.uk

Chromosome 16

  • C. EDGAR HILDEBRAND, Los Alamos National Laboratory, 505/665-3024, ceh@telomere.lanl.gov
  • M. H. Breuning, Sylvius Laboratory, (Int.) 31/71-276-075, WagDunne@rulgl.leidenuniv.nl
  • David Frederick Callen, Adelaide Children's Hospital, (Int.) 61/8-204-7342, hkozman@adam.adelaide.edu.au
  • Stephen T. Reeders, Yale University School of Medicine, 203/624-8213, reeders@yalemed.bitnet

Chromosome 17

  • ELLEN SOLOMON, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, (Int.) 44/71-269-3469, e_solomon@icrf.ac.uk
  • Pamela R. Fain, University of Utah, Research Park, 801/581-6052, pam@morgan.med.utah.edu
  • David H. Ledbetter, Baylor College of Medicine, 713/798-5920

Chromosome 18

  • MICHELLE LEBEAU, University of Chicago, 312/702-3163
  • Ad Geurts van Kessel, University Hospital Nijmegen, (Int.) 31/80-542151

Chromosome 19

  • HANS-HILGER ROPERS, University Hospital Nijmegen, (Int.) 31/80-540488
  • Harvey Mohrenweiser, Lawrence Livermore, 510/422-2282, harvey@cea.llnl.gov

Chromosome 20

  • JEAN WEISSENBACH, Institut Pasteur, (Int.) 33/1-4568-8790, jsbach@genethon.fr
  • Ingo Hansmann, University of Gottingen, (Int.) 49/551-399303, dschlot@gwdgvl.dnet.gwdg.de
  • Tim P. Keith, Collaborative Research, Inc., 617/891-5062, keith@cric.com
  • Cassandra L. Smith, Boston University, 617/353-5929, cls@buenga.bu.edu

Chromosome 21

  • DAVID R. COX, University of Calif., San Francisco, 415/476-7389, dcox@cgl.ucsf.edu
  • Stylianos E. Antonarakis, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, 410/955-0484, sea@library.welch.jhu.edu
  • Christine van Broeckhoven, University of Antwerp, (Int.) 32/3-820-2248
  • Nobuyoshi Shimizu, Keio University School of Medicine, (Int.) 81/3-3351-2370, x2721, shimizu@dmb.med.keio.ac.jp

Chromosome 22

  • BEVERLY S. EMANUEL, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 215/590-3764, emanuel@a1.mscf.upenn.edu@in
  • Kenneth H. Buetow, Fox Chase Cancer Center, 215/728-3574, kh_buetow@fccc.edu
  • Jean-Claude Kaplan, Hopital COCHIN-Maternites, (Int.) 33/1-4234-1542, bachner@genethon.fr
  • Melvin I. Simon, Calif. Institute of Technology, 818/796-7066

Chromosome X

  • JEAN-LOUIS MANDEL, Institute de Chimie Biologique, (Int.) 33/88-37-01-48, mandel@lgme.u.strasbg.fr
  • Anthony P. Monaco, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, (Int.) 44/865-222-431, a_monaco@icrf.ac.uk
  • David L. Nelson, Baylor College of Medicine, 713/798-7383, nelson@bcm.tmc.edu
  • David Schlessinger, Case Western Reserve University, 216/368-3030, davids@wugenmail.wustl.edu
  • Huntington F. Willard, Stanford University Medical Center, 415/725-1534

Chromosome Y

  • PETER N. GOODFELLOW, University of Cambridge, (Int.) 44/22-333-3992, p_goodfellow@icrf.ac.uk
  • Michele Ramsay, South African Institute for Medical Research, (Int.) 27/11-725-2319, 058mrams@witsvma.wits.ac.za
  • Jean Weissenbach, Institut Pasteur, (Int.) 33/1-4568-8790, jsbach@genethon.fr

Clinical Disorders

  • ALBERT A. SCHINZEL, University of Zurich Medical School, (Int.) 41/1-262-04-70
  • Jean Frezal, GENATLAS, INSERM, (Int.) 33/1-47-03-3888, frezal@frciti51.bitnet
  • Victor A. McKusick, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, 410/955-4999, mckusick@library.welch.jhu.edu

Comparative Mapping

  • STEPHEN J. O'BRIEN, National Cancer Institute, 301/846-1686, obr@cu.nih.gov
  • Jennifer M. Graves, La Trobe University, (Int.) 61/3-479-1188
  • Joseph H. Nadeau, Jackson Laboratory, 207/288-5079, jhn@jax.org
  • Josephine Peters, MRC Radiobiology Unit, (Int.) 44/235-834-918
  • James E. Womack, Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine, 409/845-9972

DNA

  • ANNE M. BOWCOCK, University of Tex. SW Medical Center, 214/688-8617, bowcock@dnapen.swmed.utexas.edu
  • Egbert Bakker, Leiden University, (Int.) 31/71-276-292, bbakker@rullf2.leidenuniv.nl
  • Charles Coutelle, St. Mary's Hospital Medical School, (Int.) 44/71-724-7349
  • Katherine W. Klinger, Integrated Genetics Laboratories, Inc., 508/820-9742

Linkage

  • STEPHANIE LEE SHERMAN, Emory University, 404/727-5783, pedes@emrycc.cc.emory.edu
  • Bronya J. B. Keats, Louisiana State University Medical Center, 504/568-8500, keats@recomb.biogen.lsumc.edu

Mitochondria

  • DOUGLAS C. WALLACE, Emory University School of Medicine, 404/727-3949, meddcw@emrycc.cc.emory.edu

Neoplasia

  • FELIX MITELMAN, University Hospital, Sweden, (Int.) 46/46-131-061
  • Roland Berger, Institut de Genetique Moleculaire, (Int.) 33/1-42-06-9531
  • Yasuhiko Kaneko, Saitama Cancer Center, (Int.) 81/48-722-1739

Nomenclature

  • PHYLLIS J. McALPINE, University of Manitoba, 204/786-8712, mcal@genmap.hgen.umanitoba.ca
  • Claude Boucheix, Hopital Paul-Brousse, (Int.) 33/1-4726-8097, jasmin@frciti51.bitnet
  • Thomas B. Shows, Roswell Park Memorial Institute, 716/845-8449, birgenom@ubvmsa.bitnet

HGMIS Staff

Return to Table of Contents

The electronic form of the newsletter may be cited in the following style:
Human Genome Program, U.S. Department of Energy, Human Genome News (v4n3).

Human Genome Project 1990–2003

The Human Genome Project (HGP) was an international 13-year effort, 1990 to 2003. Primary goals were to discover the complete set of human genes and make them accessible for further biological study, and determine the complete sequence of DNA bases in the human genome. See Timeline for more HGP history.

Human Genome News

Published from 1989 until 2002, this newsletter facilitated HGP communication, helped prevent duplication of research effort, and informed persons interested in genome research.