logo

* Home

* STC Project History

* 1995 Meeting

* Articles

* Contacts

* Links


* HGP Sequences

* HGP Research


* What is a BAC?

December 4, 1995
U.S. Department of Energy Workshop on Bacterial Artificial Chromosomes (BACs)

Agenda
8:30-10:00 a.m.
Presentations on experiences with large insert libraries. Each talk was 15 minutes.
E. Branscomb
P. de Jong
D. Page
E. Lai
B. Birren
J.F. Cheng

10:30-12:00 noon
Additional Presentations
C. Venter
C. Amemiya
R. Wing
M. Simon
M. Adams

1:00-2:00 p.m. Discussion of problems and the need for a public Large Insert Library Resource: Effort? Cost? Starting Material? Mechanisms for access?

2:00-2:30 p.m. Presentations of proposal(s) for libraries

3:30-5:00 p.m. Discussion of proposals for specific resources

Attending HGCC members and Ex Officio
Benjamin J. Barnhart
Health Effects Research Division
U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Health and Environmental Research
Barnhart@mailgw.er.doe.gov

Elbert W. Branscomb
Human Genome Center/BBRP
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
branscomb1@llnl.gov

Michelle Broido
Office of Health and Environmental Research
U.S. Department of Energy
michelle.broido@mailgw.er.doe.gov

Charles Cantor
Center for Advanced Biotechnology
Boston University
crc@enga.bu.edu

Anthony Carrano
Human Genome Center/BBRP
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
carrano1@llnl.gov
avc@sts.llnl.gov

Francis S. Collins
National Center for Human Genome Research
National Institutes of Health
fc23a@nih.gov

Daniel W. Drell
Human Genome Program
Office of Health and Environmental Research
U.S. Department of Energy
daniel.drell@oer.doe.gov

Marvin Frazier
Office of Health and Environmental Research
U.S. Department of Energy

Gerald Goldstein
Medical Application and Biological Research
Office of Health and Environmental Research
U.S. Department of Energy
gerald.goldstein@oer.doe.gov

Roland F. Hirsch
U.S. Department of Energy
roland.hirsch@oer.doe.gov

David Kingsbury
Genome Database
Johns Hopkins University
dkingsbu@gdb.org

Robert K. Moyzis
Human Genome Center
Los Alamos National Laboratory
moyzis@telomere.lanl.gov

Mohandas Narla
Human Genome Center
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
mohandas_narla@macmail.lbl.gov

Aristides Patrinos
Health and Environmental Research
U.S. Department of Energy
Ari.Patrinos@oer.doe.gov

Melvin I. Simon
Biology Division
California Institute of Technology
simon@starbase1.caltech.edu

David A. Smith
Health Effects and Life Sciences
U.S. Department of Energy
David.A.Smith@oer.doe.gov

Hamilton O. Smith
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
ham_smith@qmail.bs.jhu.edu

Lloyd M. Smith
Department of Chemistry
Analytical Division
University of Wisconsin-Madison
lmsmith@fozzie.chem.wisc.edu

Jay Snoddy
Human Genome Task Group
U.S. Department of Energy
jay.snoddy@oer.doe.gov

Sylvia Spengler
Human Genome Program
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
SJSpengler@lbl.gov

Marvin Stodolsky
Human Genome Task Group
HELSRD
U.S. Department of Energy
Marvin.Stodolsky@oer.doe.gov

David Thomassen
HELSRD
Office of Health and Environmental Research
U.S. Department of Energy
David.Thomassen@mailgw.er.doe.gov

John Wooley
Office of Health and Environmental Research
Office of Energy Research
U.S. Department of Energy
wooley@er.doe.gov



Attending Invitees
Mark D. Adams
The Institute for Genomic Research
mdadams@tigr.org

Chris T. Amemiya
Center for Human Genetics
Boston University School of Medicine
camemiya@bu.edu

Bruce Birren
Whitehead Institute/MIT Center for Genome Research

Jan-Fang Cheng
Human Genome Center
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
jcheng@genome.lbl.gov

Pieter de Jong
Human Genetics Department
Roswell Park Cancer Institute
pieter@dejong.med.buffalo.edu

Eric Lai
Glaxo Wellcome Inc.
ehl21107@ussun4e.glaxo.com

David Page
Whitehead Institute
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lisa Stubbs
Biology Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
stubbs@bioax1.bio.ornl.gov
stubbslj@ornl.gov

J. Craig Venter
The Institute for Genomic Research
jcventer@tigr.org

Rod A. Wing
Department of Soil and Crop Science
Crop Biotechnology Center
Texas A&M


Last modified: Wednesday, October 22, 2003

Disclaimers * Webmaster

Home * Links * Meetings * Articles * Contacts * History