November 1999

ORNL people

George D. Wignall of the Solid State Division and Michael Agamalian of the Spallation Neutron Source have received the 1999 International Society for Measurement and Control’s Arnold O. Beckman Founder Award. Wignall and Agamalian were honored for significant development in the area of ultra-high resolution small-angle scattering diffractometers.

The American Nuclear Society has elected Rusi Taleyarkhan a fellow. The Engineering Technology Division researcher has most recently charted success with his Variable Velocity Projectile technology.

The Metals and Ceramics Division’s Bob Lauf has been named 1999 Industrial Scientist of the Year by the Tennessee Academy of Science. Organizers noted his “outstanding record of scientific achievement.”

[ ORNL Reporter Home | ORNL Home | Comments ]