Each Challenge has a designated panel of expert judges that convene to review and discuss any ideas that have been submitted to that specific Challenge. Judges only review the Challenge most relevant to their area of expertise. Challenges have three judges at minimum.

Andre Desjarlais

André Desjarlais is the Program Manager for the Building Envelope Research Program at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He has been involved in building envelope and materials research for over 40 years, first as a consultant and, for the last 24 years, at ORNL. Areas of expertise include building envelope and material energy efficiency, moisture control, and durability. Desjarlais has been a Member of American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) since 1987 and serves on Committees C16 on Thermal Insulation and D08 on Roofing. He is the past Chairman of ASTM Committee C16 and was awarded the title of Fellow in 2011. He now serves as the chairman of ASTM’s committee on Technical Committee Operations (COTCO). He has been a member of ASHRAE since 1991 and serves on Technical Committees TC 4.4 on Thermal Insulation and Building Systems, TC 1.8 on Mechanical Insulation Systems, and TC 1.12 on Moisture Control in Buildings, and is past Chairman of TC 4.4. André is also a founding director of the RCI Foundation.

Steve Dunn

Steve Dunn is a Project Manager with the U.S. Department of Energy, Building Technologies Office, responsible for developing new initiatives to advance residential energy efficiency. He has worked in the public and private sectors for twenty years, focused on innovative approaches to advancing energy efficiency, renewable energy policies and programs at the state and local levels. At DOE, he supported the development and implementation of the Better Buildings Neighborhood Program, managing a $500 million Recovery Act portfolio comprised of more than 40 programs nationwide, and is staff lead for the SEE Action Residential Retrofit Working Group. He has published reports, studies and articles on advanced building energy codes, state clean energy policies, and energy efficiency financing programs and investment strategies. Mr. Dunn holds a Bachelors Degree in environmental studies from the University of California at Santa Cruz, and a Masters Degree in Environmental Management from the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies at Yale University.

Brian Fricke

Dr. Brian Fricke is an R&D Staff member in the Building Equipment Research Group at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL). He has over 15 years of experience in the areas of commercial and industrial refrigeration. Dr. Fricke has analyzed the energy and environmental impacts of various commercial refrigeration systems and has studied the energy consumption and sales productivity of open and doored vertical refrigerated display cases. He has also enhanced the refrigeration modeling capabilities of the whole building energy modeling tool, EnergyPlus, including modeling of transcritical CO2 booster systems and two-stage compression systems. Dr. Fricke has authored or co-authored over 150 journal articles, chapters in books, presentations and research reports. Dr. Fricke is an active member of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), where he is a member of Technical Committee (TC) 10.7, Commercial Food and Beverage Cooling Display and Storage; Standing Standards Project Committee (SSPC) 34, Designation and Safety Classification of Refrigerants; and the Multidisciplinary Task Group on Low GWP Refrigerants. In addition, Dr. Fricke is a member of the International Institute of Refrigeration (IIR) where he serves as a vice-chairman of Commission C2 (Food Science and Engineering) and newsletter editor for the U.S. National Committee of the IIR.

Kyle Gluesenkamp

Dr. Kyle R. Gluesenkamp joined ORNL in 2012. He is an expert in thermodynamic cycle analysis and experimental evaluation, with research focusing on energy efficient water heating, appliances and sorption systems. He has published a book chapter, 16 conference and journal articles, numerous invention records, contributed to the IEA Heat Pump Program Annex 34 Final Report, and has been invited to present his work in Europe, Asia and North America for industrial and academic audiences.

Claire Miziolek

Claire Miziolek is the Market Strategies Program Manager at Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships (NEEP). Her role is to help speed the adoption of efficiency solutions in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic. Claire manages NEEP's work in Consumer Electronics, Home Energy Management Systems, and Residential Lighting and is working to develop strategies and recommendations to bring these efficient technologies to broader scale and ultimately decrease the amount of energy homes and businesses use.

Karma Sawyer

Dr. Karma Sawyer is the Technology Manager for Windows & Envelope and Technology-to-Market at BTO. Sawyer joined DOE in 2010 as an ARPA-E fellow and later became an Assistant Program Director. She has a B.S. and Ph.D. in Chemistry and has studied phonon localization, homogeneous catalysis and direct air CO2 capture. She has been named an Excellence in Government fellow, a AAAS Science and Technology Policy fellow and a fellow at the ACS Petroleum Research Fund.